top of page

Master Class for young string players with the Calder Quartet
High Desert Chamber Music Festival (Bend, OR)

Calder Quartet.jpg

February 13, 2020

High Desert Chamber Music and OR-ASTA are co-sponsoring a master class with the renowned Calder String Quartet on Thursday, February 13, 2020 from 5:00-7:00pm at the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Central Oregon in Bend, Oregon.

Performers on any of the standard bowed string instruments (violin, viola, cello), except double bass, will be selected from the applicant pool. The fee to participate in master class is $50 for students of ASTA members or those who have ASTA student membership.

$100 for students of non-ASTA members.

Audition video: Upload video or link to YouTube of one movement or short piece (8-12 minutes) that student proposes to perform at the Calder Quartet Master Class. Videos must include piano accompaniment (unless work is written for unaccompanied instrument), although accompanist need not be in the frame.

All applicants, regardless of acceptance, will receive complimentary admission to the Calder Quartet's performance at the Tower Theatre in Bend, OR on Friday, February 14, 2020, 8:00pm.

Application deadline is Friday, January 17, 2020.

Applicants will be informed about acceptance by January 24, 2020 and payments for those accepted will be due on February 7, 2020.

Past ORASTA News & Events

About the Calder Quartet:

The Calder Quartet performs a broad range of repertoire at an exceptional level, always striving to channel and fulfill the composer’s vision. Already the choice of many leading composers to perform their works, the group’s distinctive approach is exemplified by a musical curiosity brought to everything they perform.

Past Events and Announcements

bottom of page